His Dreams

I’m starting to learn how important his dreams are to me.

Relationships that are serious are nothing easy to establish. When your in the foundation years and trying to build, it’s best to get all the kinks out now. My hope is that when we’re older, we will be so in-tuned that we will be unstoppable. In my current relationship, since we met early and were growing on our own as we grow together it puts a different kind of work on our relationship. This doesn’t make it easy but I hope it will make one day easier.

We’re in a stage of starting our careers, while trying to get out feet on the ground in so many ways, financially and physically. Even a conversation of our yearly goals starts a heat in the house. We have so much potential and want to do so much with it. It’s too much for us to have these thoughts at the same time in the same room. When we first started dating I left and moved to buffalo for my dream. I was getting a full ride in grad school for my masters degree, an offer I couldn’t pass up. At the time we were just dating and nothing was too serious, we didn’t know how they would turn out, so we just went with it. When I finally moved back to the city 2 years later, he got a job and it cause a shift again in our relationship. With many arguments and situations I had to learn that it was his turn and that I made my own sacrifices before so why can’t I allow him to make his. Sometimes we get wrapped up in our dreams, goals and missions that we forget that in a team everyone can’t always been #1. But that doesn’t mean no one can be.

A few months ago I learned that sometimes

“there is not enough time in a night for both our worlds”

which I think works similarly for his dreams. It is clear that we both will have aspirations and want to reach every part of our goals. But as I continue to read articles on relationships and learn that sometimes in your team you have to take “dream turns“. It may be your turn and we have to follow your dreams and then when the timing is right we switch gears. We follow mine and do the same. Then maybe we get old enough and have some kids along the way and we settle on something that suits both our dreams. I know, I know, this sounds like a fairy tale but I do believe it is possible.

As I was scrolling though my instagram when I read something that stated

“The Difference Between Being In A Relationship And Being In A Partnership.”

This spoke to me because there is a complete difference but that does not mean that couples cannot obtain both or find a way to do both. In my relationship we constantly go through what it means to be on each other’s team and that means we have to establish a level of partnership as well. I think it does take time to develop both and that a relationship that is strong should be developed before a partnership is established. I think of the relationship as the foundation for the partnership.

So what I’m trying to say or rather learn is that, sometimes I have to let him follow his dreams even if its small. I can’t get in the way or I can’t insert my realistic outlook on everything. Sometimes he just needs me to be on his team, be his partner and let us just follow his dreams.

Leave a comment